EMS Corner & Sheriffs Corner
Article Search
Vern's Views
Snookie's Memories
Subscription Rates
ND Gas Prices
Church Directory
Mohall All School Reunion

Renville County Farmer
P.O.Box 98

 ND Public Notices
 Mohall City
 Sherwood City
 Lansford City
 Mohall Lansford Sherwood School District
 Glenburn School District
 Renville County

Glenburn and MLS finish 2nd and 3rd at
the 2014 Region 8 One-Act Play competition

Pictured above: Cast and crew members for the MLS production of Bad Seed are back row, left to right: Zach Urfer, Alex Weight, Tom Rogers, and Tanner Lembke. Seated, left to right: Laura Ziliak, Allison Voigt, Madasun Frech, Hayley Southam, Shannon Asheim, Calli Brackenbury, and Kayla Mortensen. Laying in the front is Kylie McLain. Director is Vonda Schmidt.

Mohall Lansford Sherwood (MLS) was among the 11 teams from Region 8 competing in the One-Act Play Contest which was held at the MSU Aleshire Theatre on Wednesday, November 12th starting at 8:00 a.m. Other teams competing were: Bishop Ryan, Bottineau, Drake-Anamoose, Glenburn, Lewis and Clark, Sawyer, Surrey, TGU-Granville, Velva, and Westhope.

MLS performed Bad Seed by Playwright, Maxwell Anderson, from the novel by William March.

Actors in the MLS play included: Kylie McLain (Rhoda), Allison Voigt (Christine), Hayley Southam (Monica), Tanner Lembke (Leroy), Laura Ziliak (Miss Fern), Madasun Frech (Mrs. Daigle), Alex Weight (Mr. Daigle), Kayla Mortensen (Regina Tasker), Tom Rogers (Bravo), and Zach Urfer (Voice of Radio Newscaster and Tech).

Tech crew members were: Calli Brackenbury (lighting, set, and style); and Shannon Asheim (sound, set, and style).

Vonda Schmidt is the director of the MLS play, and was chosen as the Region 8 One-Act Play Coach-of-the-Year.

Winning the Region 8 One-Act Play competition was Drake-Anamoose who performed How to Kiss a Girl. Second place went to Glenburn with their performance of Virtual Family. MLS finished in third place. The top two teams will represent Region 8 at the State Contest November 24th and 25th at Jamestown.

An All State Acting Award was given to Hayley Southam for her portrayal of Monica, and Tanner Lembke received an Honorable Mention for his portrayal of Leroy. A total of eight All State Awards were given, and eight Honorable Mentions.

Congratulations to Both Renville County One-Act Play Performances!

 2010 Renville County Farmer
  All Rights Reserved.